The End of Summer In Vermont

IMG_5429

As I was watching the sun dip down over Lake Champlain the other day, I couldn’t help but think about the last days of summer slipping away. I wanted to share how I have been spending these last days. The first hints of fall are beginning to show in Vermont. Crisp air is upon us and it is almost time to pull the sweaters out of the bottom of our drawers, and switch from iced coffee to hot. I arrived about two weeks ago in Burlington to begin my sophomore year. It is the perfect time to soak up the last sun rays of summer and take advantage of everything before the snow dusts the ground for the first time. Burlington is alive with people determined to prolong their summer for just a couple more weeks. Food vendors and street performers bring Church Street alive and it’s almost hard to walk up and down without getting caught up in the energy.

The activities in Burlington and the state of VerIMG_5438mont in general are endless. This past weekend I went to the farmer’s market that is held right off of Church Street on St. Paul Street in Burlington every Saturday. They have vendors set up little tents and they serve everything from fresh pressed juice to handmade soap to flower bouquets. It’s not so much a place to go to shop but more for the experience. All of the local businesses selling their carefully crafted products is invigorating, and makes me appreciate just how lucky I am to live in a place that takes pride in the community and the environment. I couldn’t resist the flowers of course, with bouquets brimming over little tin buckets, creating bright ambiances throughout the farmer’s market. I ended up buying a small bouquet of pink and orange flowers and it felt as if I was buying a work of art. It’s the little things like that, that make me smile.

IMG_5376

Something that everyone should take advantage of when in Vermont is the outdoors. Although it’s known for it’s mountains and skiing, at places like Stowe or Smuggler’s Notch. Vermont is also the prime location for hiking, swimming, mountain biking and everything in between. I love hiking, there’s just something about reaching the end of your expedition and admiring the view that is so satisfying. In a place like Vermont, how can you not be in love with nature? When settling into the grind of the school year, I need to find ways to fill the time when i’m not studying or in class, and those are exactly the kinds of things that I will be posting here! As the months of the school year crawl by, I will be trying to explore as much as possible and will be keeping my blog updated with sweet experiences here in Vermont!

– Sandra

Leave a comment