Favorite Beauty Products – January

Processed With DarkroomWith the start of the new year, I’m trying to take better care of my body in all ways – mentally, physically, etc. So I thought I would share a couple of my favorite beauty products that help me look and feel my best during these wintry months. These products are mostly for skincare and hair care, despite the mess of makeup in the back!

From left to right, here are my January faves!

1. Hello FAB Coconut Skin Smoothie Primer Moisturizer – First Aid Beauty  ($28)

A primer and moisturizer in one, this coconut water-based concoction soaks into my skin, gives me a glowy look and helps my makeup apply seamlessly. While I don’t use it every day as a moisturizer, it’s great for the summer when you want to avoid looking oily but want supple, dewy skin. But it also works great in the winter to help revamp a dull, dry complexion. A little goes a long way so use slightly less than your normal moisturizer dose. I got a sample size from Sephora and will definitely be repurchasing!

2. Caudalie Grape Water ($10/$18)

I am OBSESSED with this stuff. It has a million different purposes, works for all skin types and is 100% organic – what more could you ask for? As someone with sensitive skin, I have a hard time finding products that don’t make me flare up or break out. This refreshing spritzer comes directly from the grapes of Bordeaux, France where Caudalie founder, Mathilde Thomas discovered their amazing properties. It reduces redness and hydrates your skin but can also be used as a setting spray, to dampen your makeup brushes, and to refresh your skin throughout the day. It’s simple, suitable for sensitive skin, and if I could bathe in it, I totally would.

3. Fresh Sugar Lip Polish ($24)

The Fresh Sugar lip balm has been my go-to for years. The brand is on the pricier side, but I haven’t found anything like it in the drugstore. And of course the perfect duo for chapped lips is a sugar scrub and this one I got for Christmas sure does the trick. Brown sugar crystals buff off dead skin but don’t linger in clumps. Shea butter and Jojoba oil cure flakiness while leaving your lips as soft as ever. I’ve been using it every day or every other day to keep chapped lips at bay.

4. ETUDE HOUSE Zero Sebum Drying Powder  ($6)

If you suffer from oily skin year round like me, this product will be your new best friend. It’s a drying powder made up of 80% minerals that helps absorb oil and make your skin look more matte. I use it in my T-zone when I wear makeup to set my face and keep everything from sliding off. It can also be used as an eyelid primer and for greasy hair although I haven’t either yet. An oily skin miracle worker for $6 is a dream if you ask me.

5. Fresh Seaberry Nourishing Hand Cream ($23)

I’ve never been a huge fan of hand cream. Despite having dry cracked hands in the winter, I loathe the greasy residue that most lotions leave. This hand cream from Fresh is full of seaberry oil that makes it super buttery and disappears into your skin quickly. This hand cream has turned me into a hand cream believer. I’ve become one of those people that always have hand cream in their purse and I’m not mad about it.

6. Simple Water Boost Skin Quench Sleep Cream ($9)

A face mask while I sleep? Say no more. The Simple brand has been my life for years now. It’s my go-to for every skincare product because of how gentle their formulas are on sensitive skin. I use their makeup wipes, moisturizer, and face mask daily. When I saw this sleep cream at the store I had to try it. If your skin could drink water, I imagine it would feel like using this. You use the lightweight, gel-like cream overnight so you wake up in the morning with transformed, hydrated, and beautiful skin.

7. IGK Rich Kid Coconut Oil Gel  ($15/$29)

I have thick, straight hair. I’m talking like curl my hair at 9 am and it’s straight by 10:30 am kind of straight. So any product that gives me a little texture without making my strands crunchy is considered a holy grail in my eyes. This coconut oil gel is on the thicker side and I put it in slightly damp hair, comb through and then put my hair in braids or twisted buns. I leave my hair like that for a couple of hours and when I take it out, the result is Instagram worthy piece-y beach waves.

Leave a comment